The New Pornographers with Thao & The Get Down Stay Down

THE NEW PORNOGRAPHERS—A.C. Newman, John Collins, Blaine Thurier, Dan Bejar, Kathryn Calder, and Todd Fancey—are a true supergroup, “virtually peerless in the world of power-pop and indie-rock.” (NPR) Since 2000 they have released six records, with many pauses between for distinguished solo careers and other projects. Each time they come together, the results are outstanding; their longevity, persistence, and consistency as a band speak volumes about how much fun they continue to have doing it. Last year’s Brill Bruisers, a universally acclaimed album that hit many end of year best of lists, found them in top form. They’re back at the Bandshell almost 10 years to the day after they first graced the stage.

Led by the beguiling frontwoman Thao Nguyen, alt-folk iconoclastsTHAO & THE GET DOWN STAY DOWN have worked with a laundry list of vaunted artists including Andrew Bird, Mirah, Joanna Newsom, and Laura Viers and have toured with the NPR show Radiolab.