Naumburg Orchestral Concerts: Orpheus Chamber Orchestra

naumbergNaumburg Orchestral Concerts

Tuesday, July 9, 2013, 7:30 PM


Orpheus Chamber Orchestra

Eric Wyrick, violin

Orpheus is changing the way the world thinks about musicians, conductors, and orchestras. The effect is extraordinary. The Los Angeles Times raves: “A virtuosic whole…they’re fast. They’re together. They’re aggressive. They can be electrifying.”

Gioachino Rossini
Overture to Cambiale di matrimonio, (1810)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Romance for Violin & Orchestra No. 2, in F major, Op. 50, (1798)

Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
Symphony No. 44 in E minor, ‘Trauer’, Hob. 1:44, (1770-71)

  1. Allegro con brio
  2. Menuetto (Allegretto) & Trio
  3. Adagio
  4. Finale: Presto



Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Serenade for Strings in C major, Op. 48, (1880)

  1. Pezzo in forma di sonatina: Andante non troppo—Allegro moderato
  2. Valse: Moderato — Tempo di valse
  3. Élégie: Larghetto elegiaco
  4. Finale (Tema russo): Andante — Allegro con spirito

WQXR HOST: Terrance McKnight

WQXR will tape this concert for broadcast on 105.9 FM and streaming on on Saturday, July 13 at 7pm