Mozart & Takemitsu

Dongmin Kim, conductor

Miriam Fried, violin / Hsin-Yun Huan, viola

When Stravinsky first heard Toku Takemistu’s Requiem, he instantly recognized the work’s passion and sincerity. In this program, NYCP pairs Takemistu’s thoughtful piece with Ravel’s cherished Pavane pour une Infante Defunte (Pavane for a dead princess); originally composed for solo piano, the string orchestra arrangement of Ravel’s work magnifies its elegiac sonority. Miriam Fried, one of the nation’s most captivating violinists, joins NYCP and internationally-acclaimed violist Hsin-Yun Huang for Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola, and Orchestra.


MOZART / Symphony No. 29 in A major, K. 201

RAVEL / Pavane Pour Une Infante Defunte

MOZART / Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola in E-flat major, K. 364