Naumburg Orchestral Concerts: The Knights – Opening Concert 2013

naumbergTuesday, June 25, 2013, 7:30 PM

Naumburg Orchestral Concerts

108 Years of Free Concerts!

The Knights

“If we are to talk about the future of classical music in America, sooner or later the Knights will come up” (The Los Angeles Times)

Eric Jacobsen, conductor

Luigi Boccherini
Sinfonia, No. 6, ‘La Casa del Diavolo’ for orchestra in D minor, Op. 12, No. 4, (1771)

  1. Andante sostenuto – Allegro assai
  2. Andantino con moto
  3. Andante sostenuto – Allegro con molto

Philip Glass (1937- )
Suite from Orphee (World Premiere), 2013


Karlheinz Stockhausen (1928-2007)
Selections from Tierkreis (1974-75)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-91)
Symphony No. 41, ‘Jupiter’, in C major, K.551, (1788)

  1. Allegro vivace
  2. Andante cantabile
  3. Menuetto: Allegretto – Trio
  4. Molto allegro

WQXR will broadcast every concert in this series live on 105.9 FM and via live stream at